nalda+Outdoors: Loch Vale (Rocky Mountain National Park)

nalda+Outdoors, nalda+Travel

Loch

  • Photographed by: Stephen Ham
  • Taken: August 2013
  • Location: Loch Vale, Rocky Mountain National Park, CO, USA
  • Camera: Panasonic LX7

“In my quest last year to start exploring more trails within Rocky Mountain National Park, I discovered the trail to Loch Vale (loosely translated as “lake valley”). The weather on the day of the hike started out sunny & warm, but as usually happens in Colorado, by afternoon it turned overcast and it was beginning to rain as I got close to the lake. Despite the weather, the scene was so captivating that I had to take this shot and I knew that this would be the first of many trips back to the serene lake.” – Stephen Ham

Trail Rating: I highly recommend this scenic hike. Even though the final ascent is steep, for the most part the hike is flat with a slow incline that is manageable for even novice hikers.  I particularly liked the fact that the terrain is varied and offers so many beautiful scenic views.

Difficulty Level:  Moderate (3 hours / 6 miles round-trip)

Leave a comment